breathing


Breathing

I’m building a white bed frame on my own today

To prove to myself that I can

I enjoy finding situations

To show myself I am indeed, independent

And some days, I have to remind myself I like it

And others, it feels as natural as breathing in

A wonderful and benign thing

Like my cat, raisin, climbing into my shoulder

As I write


I stopped writing for months when he left

My muse was out of reach

In the last two weeks, the words have come back home

And we enjoy each others company

I thought, “I need to write again”

And so it came to be

To attract the flow I read and journal

I listen to poetry


I did not feel well with myself in the last couple of weeks

Participation felt forced and I was more irritable than I have been before

I was afraid we were losing our touch

Reluctant to continue

But it’s the power of words that healed us

A simple conversation

An unexpected remedy

It brought us back in harmony

And it manifests as naturally as breathing out

Published by dearabigale

writer—working on the guts part.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started